Without You

“I have a great time at the Library of Congress with the team there that assists me. Without them I’d just be a washing machine walking down the street and falling apart.”

— U.S. Poet Laureate Juan Felipe Herrera, from an interview in The Washington Post published March 2, 2017.

 

Without my friends, I’d just be
an electric razor sleeping in the sweater drawer
with run-down batteries.

Without my books, I’d just be
a can of beer rolling down the hill
and singing Cluck Old Hen.

Without my bike, I’d just be
a preschooler playing with Legos
and forgetting my password.

Without you, I’d just be
a medieval knight dancing the tango
and ordering à la carte.

Published by

Ray Sharp

Father, poet, triathlete, local public health planner

One thought on “Without You”

Leave a Reply

